Recipe for a unique vegetarian stew

I came across this recipe in a local newspaper. Don’t get me wrong I’m a total meatasaurus and love me a good ol’ steak, but I’m constantly looking for new recipes for my weekly meal prepping and this one just happens to be vegetarian. Soups, stews and chilli’s are a quick, realatively inexpensive and easy to prepare, the large quantity lasts all week and not to mention these dishes are super comforting on these chilly fall days. The most important things I’ve learned about meal prepping is: be prepared and don’t be afraid to mix it up! There is nothing worse than working all day until your brain hurts and you open up your container of dry chicken breast and broccoli they you have now eaten for the 1 millionth time and feel like you would rather just not eat, or end up going out for lunch, wasting money and ruining your clean eating. You will not successfully eat clean if your not prepared.

Chickpea and Spinach Stew 

– 2 onions chopped (I used white)

– 2-3 tbs vegetable oil (I winged it, I’m not one to measure when I cook)

– 4 cloves of garlic (I used a tbs of the pre minced garlic from Costco)

– 3 inch piece of ginger (I used ground ginger)

– 2-3 handfuls of spinach (I probably used more like 4-5 handfuls, bring on the greens!)

– 2 tsp turmeric

– 1 tsp cumin

– 1/2 tsp coriander (I skipped this)

– 1/2 tsp cayenne (skip this step if you don’t like spicy foods)

– 1 can of diced tomatoes (I used salt free)

– 1 large can of chickpeas (I also used the reduced salt as I prefer to salt my own food)

– salt reduced vegetable broth as required

– 1 bag of cauliflower rice (the recipe didn’t call for it, but I felt like it made this recipe more stew-like) — FYI Save on foods is the only place have been able to find this

– I tossed in a can of mushrooms (extra veggies never hurt anyone)

– salt and pepper to taste

-I sautéed the onions garlic and spices until soft, added the chickpeas and veggies brought to a quick boil and then allowed it to simmer for about 15-20 minutes on low heat.

– this can be served with rice or quinoa but since I try to avoid those types of carbs I opted for the cauliflower rice

And voila! Bon appetit

Leave a Reply

